Upcoming Event

Asian 20km Race Walking Championships

Nomi-shi (JPN)

15th Mar 2015

20th AAC 2013


Season Leaders

as on 31st Dec 2014




Media Registration


News Releases


Dahlan Al Hamad to contest for IAAF Vice President and AAA President post in 2015

Doha, 16.02.2015 – Mr. Dahlan Al Hamad, the IAAF Vice President, Asian Athletics President and Qatar Athletics President, announced today 16 February, at a press conference in Doha, his intention to run later this year for both the IAAF and Asian Athletics Association elections in order to retain his positions as IAAF Vice-President and AAA President.

Mr. Dahlan Al Hamad has been a Council Member of International Association of Athletics Federation (IAAF) since 2003 and Vice President since 2007. Also, after serving the Asian Athletic Association (AAA) as Sr. Vice President for seven years, in 2013 was elected in the Presidential position.

“From an unknown quantity at international level, Qatar has evolved in the last 20 years into a key, powerful and trusted IAAF partner. Throughout all these years I have served the Qatari, Asian and International athletics governing bodies from various leading positions".

“My personal dream to establish my county into the world’s athletics decision makers has become a reality, but my aspirations for the future of world athletics do not end here. I am determined to do whatever required to keeping up the development of the sport from its grassroots not only in Qatar, but in the wider Asian continent”, said Mr. Dahlanwho thanked His Highness the Emir, Sheikh Tamim bin Hamad bin Khalifa Al Thani, for his continuous support.

“Dahlan Al Hamad is a key Qatari figure who had continuously contributed to the athletics scene in Qatar, Asia and the whole world. The candidacy of Dahlan Al Hamad is vital, given his background in both the IAAF and AAA” underlined HE Sheikh Saoud bin Abdulrahman Al-Thani, Secretary General of the Qatar Olympic Committee and co-host of the the press conference.

Among the initiatives Mr. Dahlan has introduced during his short tenure as AAA President were the creation of a 5-year strategic plan; the organisation of numerous training programmes in various countries, mainly for those who are facing financial problems; the agreement to bring all Asian federations under the umbrella of the Qatar-based “Aspire”; the promotion of Beach Athletics; the creation of preparation camps for all federations in China – in order to assist the poorest countries; and the agreements signed with Oceania and the Balkan Athletics Association for athletes’ and coaches exchange programmes. Furthermore AAA managed to generate an additional income from sponsors.

“I believe that it is time for Asia to be at the Centre Stage and this task can be achieved by creating and delivering a new athletics concept. But, this ambitious project we are determined to implement at Asian Athletics cannot be separated from a general strategic plan the International Associations of Athletics Federations should adopt.

“No matter who the next IAAF President will be, we have to start Innovating World Athletics and the main means are by focusing on Youths, Inspire them and Engage them. If I will be re-elected at the IAAF Vice-President position I will concentrate all my forces and energy on that direction”, added Mr. Dahlan who also declared war to the illegal performance enhancing substances distribution and use.

“If we all concentrate and unite forces on this war, and I mean IAAF, AAA and all other athletics organisations, we may be able by 2019 when the World Championships will be held in Doha, to showcase to the world a fairer, cleaner and more attractive sport, like it has never been before.

Mr. Dahlan Al Hamad is convinced that a further expansion of athletics worldwide seems feasible if all will act dynamically by implementing a few simple but very important steps.

“We need to emphasise on the grass roots programmes, to educate and engage youngsters on the sportsmanlike principles, to teach them the virtues of fair play and to fight against doping. Education is our main weapon in our war against doping. We must focus on Prevention, to raise awareness of the complications and symptoms doping use may cause to the human body.”

15th Asian Marathon Championship 2015

Winners of Men Marathon of 15th Asian Marathon Championship 2015

Winners of Women Marathon of 15th Asian Marathon Championship 2015

Winners of 15th Asian marathon championship 2015
(Photo by-張嘉哲)

15th Asian Marathon Championship 2015- Hong Kong

Hong Kong, Jan 25: Shingo Igarashi (五十嵐真悟) of Japan wins Mens Marathon title of the 15th Asian Marathon Championship 2015 covering challenging 42.195km of Hong Kong city roads in a time of 2:14:29. Shingo beat favourite DPR Korea's Pak Chol to second place. Pak clocked 2:16:09 for silver medal while Mongolia's Olonbayar JAMSRAN grabbed Bronze medal with a performance of 2:22:49.

In the Women's race DPR Korea's runners dominated the race. KIM Hye Gyong, sensational 21 years old talented runner who has finished in the top 8 of the World Championship in Moscow in 2013 won the Asian title with an ease clocking 2:31:46.Teammate KIM Mi Gyong set new personal best performance to win Silver medal in 2:36:08. Kazakhstan's Gulzhanat ZHANATBEK won her bronze medal after intensive battle with Mongolian Munkhzaya BAYARTSOGT who finished on the 4th place with 2:38:43. Gulzhanat clocked 2:38:36 for Bronze medal.

More than 70000 runners took part in the Standard Chartered Hong Kong Marathon, an IAAF silver label event organised by Hong Kong Amateur Athletics Association. It was 4th time that Hong Kong successfully organised the Asian Marathon Championship. AAA Council member from Chinese Taipei Ching Cheng Wang and William J. Ko of Hong Kong presented the medals to the winners.


Men: 1.Shingo IGARASHI,JPN 2:14:29;2.PAK Chol,PRK 2:16:09;3.Olonbayar JAMSRAN,MGL 2:22:49;4.Eduardo BUENAVISTA,PHI 2:24:11;5.Bhumi Raj RAI,NEP 2:24:58;6.Ganehi Kankanamalage Kelum Sapath Thissa Gunasekara,SRI 2:28:35; 7.LI Ming Sheng,TPE 2:32:08;8.TSUI Chi Kin,HKG 2:34:31;9.Ilia TIAPKIN,KGZ 2:35:25;10.LAI Ho Ki,HKG 2:38:56;11.YANG Meng,CHN 2:42:16;12.LAU Kwong Man,HKG 2:43:19;13.LAM Chak In,MAC 2:51:17;14.CHAN Chong Ip,MAC 3:07:20;Nasrulla AHMED,MDV DNF;LIM Thow Wee,SIN DNF

Women: 1. KIM Hye Gyong,PRK 2:31:46;2.KIM Mi Gyong,PRK 2:36:08;3.Gulzhanat ZHANATBEK,KAZ 2:38:36;4.Munkhzaya BAYARTSOGT,MGL 2:38:43;5.Bogaha Kotuwe Gedara Niluka Geethani Rajasekara,SRI 2:40:07;6.ZHANG Junli,CHN 2:42:18;
7.YIU Kit Ching,HKG 2:45:45;8.Sarita BASI,NEP 3:06:38;9.CHAN Pui Shan Peggy,HKG 3:11:52;10.CHOY Mun Tse Mandy,HKG 3:12:03;11.ONG Kaifen,SIN 3:23:46


Asian Athletics Association welcomes 2015

2015 has arrived. World of Athletics will be coming together in Asia for the IAAF World Championship in Bejing later this year. 2015 is also the year of Asian Athletics Championship which will be held at Wuhan ( China)

AAA wishes all athletes a healthy and succesful 2015.

In 2014 more than 16 Asian records were set indicating improvement in the performance standards of Asian athletes. Click here to view Asian records

AAA Season will start with Asian Marathon Championship in Hong Kong on 25th Jan.

© Asian Athletics Association Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Sitemap